Chapter 1: The Almost Good Life – MLiNaF

Well, I had a new ‘mother’ and according to her I had a new father as well…hmmm.   I wonder what these people were really like.  The lady seemed nice enough; I mean she did help me with my ‘problem’.  I secretly hoped that maybe I had finally found my forever home.  Don’t criticize!  I was twelve for Pete’s sake.  I didn’t know any better.  The life I’d had up until now had been anything but pleasant.  Do you know how often I, a young child, wondered why I was even alive?  Sad isn’t it?  Anyway, my new home was better than I could have imagined.  I mean I got my own room!  I’d never had my own room before so I was pretty stoked.  When we got ‘home’ my new mother (whom I was to call Mimsy) showed me around.  It was a small house really, but to me it was a mansion.  Mimsy told me Papa (her husband) would be home soon so she had to get dinner started.  I was free to do as I pleased.  What is a twelve year old supposed to do in a mansion?  Well, explore of course!

Where to start, where to start?  Well, my twelve year old self decided to start at the top and work my way to the bottom.  Makes sense right?  You’d think that an elderly couple wouldn’t have much to find in their home, but you’d be wrong in this case.  As I made my way to the attic, I started wondering about what things I could possibly find.  Were there hidden treasures somewhere?  What if I found something I wasn’t supposed to find?  I contemplated this the little bit of time it took to climb the attic stairs.  Before I knew it I was standing in the attic.  The first thing I thought was that I needed to be really quiet or I’d most likely get in trouble.  Therefore, I tiptoed my way across the attic.  Nothing really caught my eye until…what was that in the corner?  I walked over to it.  “It’s something covered in a cloth.”  I muttered to myself.  It looked to be some sort of box looking thing.

I wasn’t quite sure if I should mess with it, but you know, being curious and well…nosy, I just had to.  I picked up the cloth carefully and beneath was an old hope chest.Lifting the lid on the hope chest and praying that it wouldn’t creak, I peered inside. “What the hell?” Inside the hope chest was a bunch of baby clothing, and children’s toys. However, the elderly couple didn’t seem to have any other children.

Mimsy called for me, and I scrambled to put things back in their place. “Coming ma’am!” “You better hurry child!” A bit terrified, I hurried down the stairs to see what Mimsy had waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

